1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Singapore with family

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Branewday, May 22, 2020.

1. Branewday

Branewday New commenter

Hi
    I have almost 20 years experience in primary teaching, but within that time I have been on maternity leave for my 3 children. I am keen to move to Singapore with the family for the start of the next academic year 2021. A job won’t be a problem for my husband as he is able to transfer with his company. I know it’s extremely competitive, but any insight as to whether schools would hire me with 3 school places needed? I have a management position here in the UK but I am happy to step down and not take any extra responsibilities if I were successful. Thanks in advance!

2. IndigoViolence

IndigoViolence New commenter

Depends on school. BUT if you’re husband is working, you many not get any school places or perhaps only a % paid.

Using Search Associates or Teacher Horizons is the place to start. SA will give you that information upfront. Make sure you research your schools.

Good luck.

3. Branewday

Branewday New commenter

Thanks.... I’m new to this. Does joining one of the international recruit agencies (as above) increase your chances or merely give you a better insight into different schools? Presumably I would be cheaper for the schools to hire if I applied directly with them?
    Also, why would my husband working mean I may not be eligible for free school places? If he were to get a transfer we wouldn’t be receiving a package, it would be simply working through a different office.