1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Singapore Packages 2017

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by jdgoliath9, Jun 1, 2017.

1. jdgoliath9

jdgoliath9 New commenter

Hi All,

I am hoping the community can help me with a few questions on Singapore.

First of all i am a Physics secondary school teacher in the UK and i am hoping to transition to teaching overseas in Singapore in summer 2018. My first question is will i be able to get a job in Singapore? (I hear it is mighty competitive).

Following this can anyone please give me information on how much packages typically offer such as flights, pay, relocation allowance, and housing allowance? I hear HDB's are the way to go for cheaper rent but how much would i be paying on rent typically?

My partner who is a Biology teacher is also hoping to move out there as well, i appreciate any help and will answer any questions :)

JD

2. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

as a physics teacher you will easily get a job. you are a very rare breed on the international circuit indeed. Singapore is one of the most sort after places on earth to work though, so this place wont be as easy as everywhere else. any decent school outside of western Europe will give you as a basic classroom teacher package:
    • annual return flight for you and all your dependants
    • free medical insurance for you and all your dependants
    • free places for your children at the school (usually up to 2)
    • Travel allowance/shipping - covering getting you and all your dependants to the country.
    • accommodation - either fully paid for, or allowance that will cover renting.
    • salary - tax free (or equivalent) from $30 000 a year all the way up to $100 000.