1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Singapore Mastery / Bar Method in Secondary Schools

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by biancalang03, Feb 15, 2016.

1. biancalang03

biancalang03 New commenter

As you may be aware, rrecent research has shown that teaching by the Singaporean mastery method (the bar method) has proven faster learning and more progress in primary schools pupils. I am a secondary school teacher and I am finding that a lot of the students in year 7 join our school having been taught in this manner, but members of staff do now know how to continue teaching in this method or, whether or not they understand the method, have not had any training in it.

Any ideas where training or resources in secondary Singapore maths can be found?

Also: do you think you might benefit from that?

2. Vince_Ulam

Vince_Ulam Star commenter

The most diplomatic thing I can say here is that the National Curriculum does not endorse this thing at Primary nor at Secondary. If you wish to teach Singaporean methods then emigrate to Singapore.

3. adamcreen

adamcreen Occasional commenter

You will find lots of bar model acolytes on Twitter and blogposts if you search for it. You can also jump on the publishers bandwagon and spend £££ on new textbooks, they are available from Oxford (Inspire Maths), MathsNoProblem, and several others.
    Of course, bar modelling is not from Singapore and is not a mastery method. In 1992 I did it in my PGCE, and many of the Singapore "experts" trained in the UK and learnt it here.