1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

SIMS access

Discussion in 'Governors' started by neddyfonk, Jul 26, 2016.

1. neddyfonk

neddyfonk Established commenter

Just wondering how many governors have remote access to SIMS which may be for assessment, behaviour, progress, attendance, finance/budgets , SEN, accidents, HR, timetables, events etc etc. rather than having to plow through reams of paper at meetings.
    Capita have a 2hr orientating training session ( no sessions currently booked) but I suspect very few governors are ever given a remote login to access any of this valuable data.

2. Skeoch

Skeoch Established commenter

As an ex-data manager I'd be a bit worried about this. Governors don't have responsibilities for individual pupils or individual staff members so I would be asking some serious Data Protection questions about the reasons why they are asking for access to personal data. The governors concerned might well be able to answer them successfully.... but I'm not sure.

bevdex, Rott Weiler and wanet like this.
  3. DaisysLot

DaisysLot Senior commenter

Indeed I see how reason why governors should have access to SIMS in this way. It is an operational tool.

Rott Weiler likes this.
  4. neddyfonk

I made an inquiry to Capita as to whether a governor portal might be available that would only supply summary data ( or they could of course anonomise individuals via a different id - e.g Y5B01 ( Boy No.1 in Yr5 )).
    I had to do this as a TA when writing diaries.

5. neddyfonk

To Skeoch