1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Sick of it!

Discussion in 'New teachers' started by Sazzlebomb, Nov 20, 2011.

1. I am a NQT in my third term but I am sick of it already and am considering leaving teaching. No other job has this much pressure and expects you to work at home as much as we do. I love teaching but I work to live, not live to work. Anyone else feel the same?

2. YES! I'm not considering leaving teaching but I am not enjoying my job half as much as I was hoping I would! I really want to leave the school I'm in but know I have to stick it for this year then get out of there!
    I'm a year 5 teacher and my partner teacher is in her mid 30, single and lives on her own and works all the time! I live with my parents for my NQT year and it's like she is expecting me to do the same amount of work as her! Just this evening she's texted me with stuff, I'm like, hello? It's Sunday night, I'm not doing any work! When I offered to do some tomorrow morning she says she'd do it now and I know she'll be complaining that I'm not pulling my weight, well I did offer, it's not my fault if she wants to be in control all the time!
    I think I need to talk to my mentor because I cannot go on like this even to the rest of term let alone a whole year!
    I'm so glad there's someone else not enjoying their job!