1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Should you take a maternity cover for your NQT year?

Discussion in 'NQTs and new teachers' started by ellefs, May 15, 2020.

?

Would you take a maternity cover for your NQT year?

1. Yes

9 vote(s)
    64.3%
  2. No

1 vote(s)
    7.1%
  3. Depends

4 vote(s)
    28.6%
  1. ellefs

ellefs New commenter

I'm due to finish my School Direct training July 2020, I've had a few interviews but been unsuccessful. I've had good feedback but ultimately all have said they went with a candidate with more experience. I am worried that due to corona, I've had limited experience in the classroom and this will hold me back. One of my placement schools contacted me to say they're advertising internally for a maternity cover position from September, and asked if I was interested.
    I thought that this will give me a years experience but I'll also still be cheap to employ.

What are peoples thoughts/experience on taking a maternity cover for your NQT year?

2. Caramel2308

Caramel2308 Occasional commenter

No reason why not. You will be treated in exactly the same way as if the job were permanent. The only downside is that unless someone leaves or the person on maternity doesn't come back you will have to look for something else at the end of the contract. A bit strange the school are only advertising internally - or are there some current temporary/student teachers there who might also go for it. It sounds promising because they contacted you specifically to invite you to apply. Good luck whatever you decide to do. You are clearly a teacher who is valued.

3. rolls

rolls Occasional commenter