1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Should TAs cover PPA?

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by redhed52, Apr 15, 2011.

1. Hi, I work as a TA in a small primary school (less than 60 pupils) during the teachers PPA - which they all take at the same time leaving one part time NQT and non teaching head to cover - there are not enough teachers left to cover our three classrooms so myself and another TA teach music on that afternoon. I don't have a problem delivering the lesson as there are two of us in the classroom and we work from planned lessons so no extra work to do. But, recently the Head warned us that if ofsted came in a teacher would be asked to take music instead of us TA's. Does this mean we shouldn't be covering PPA, or teaching music?

2. Hi, I work as a TA in a small primary school (less than 60 pupils) during the teachers PPA - which they all take at the same time leaving one part time NQT and non teaching head to cover - there are not enough teachers left to cover our three classrooms so myself and another TA teach music on that afternoon. I don't have a problem delivering the lesson as there are two of us in the classroom and we work from planned lessons so no extra work to do. But, recently the Head warned us that if ofsted came in a teacher would be asked to take music instead of us TA's. Does this mean we shouldn't be covering PPA, or teaching music?