1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

should supply teachers be observed?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by jojocooke, Sep 26, 2015.

1. jojocooke

jojocooke New commenter

Hi, I'd really appreciate some advice please...
    I'm a returning teacher after 3 years being a foster carer. I am currently teaching year 1 as a supply teacher for 2 days a week. (I'm normally year 5/6) Ive been told i'm being observed but i was under the impression supply teachers don't have observations........do they?!

2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

If this is a 'regular' supply post I expect you could expect to be observed just like any other member of staff. If you want to be treated like a member of staff you have to take the 'rough with the smooth'.

DYNAMO67 and wanet like this.
  3. mandala1

mandala1 Occasional commenter

There is nothing in the Ofsted framework about not observing supply teachers and I agree with Lara that you need to take the rough with the smooth.

ilovesooty likes this.
  4. Middlemarch

Middlemarch Star commenter

If it's a regular gig, of course they do! You just have a different contract of employment. How else can your performance be assessed?

ilovesooty likes this.
  5. snowyhead

snowyhead Lead commenter