1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Should I wait?

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by klarissaxc, Oct 19, 2019.

1. klarissaxc

klarissaxc New commenter

I’m a recent English grad, 21 years old, and have been thinking of becoming a teacher for a while. I’m currently working as a TA at a secondary school before embarking on a teacher training scheme. I have been enjoying it, though it has been tough (the school I’m in has extreme behaviour issues, needs improving on ofsted etc). However, after speaking to a few people (including a few colleagues at the school) I’m wondering if I should wait before pursuing QTS. I’ve been told that I’m crazy for wanting to become a teacher at this age, and that I’m far too young to teach in schools, let alone secondary, given the poor behaviour that exists within our state schools. Some people have advised that I should return to the profession when I’m a bit older and have some more life experience to better prepare myself for some of the mental challenges that come with teaching. I would just like some opinions on the issue. Is 21 too young to become a teacher? Is it best to pursue teaching once I’m a bit more mature and experienced in ‘life’?

2. becky70

becky70 Occasional commenter