1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Should I Tell HT I’m applying for non-teaching roles?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by timeforachange123, Dec 2, 2017.

1. timeforachange123

timeforachange123 New commenter

Hi all,

I am in my 3rd year of teaching and have felt for the last 18 months that going into teaching was a mistake. This school year has compounded that (stress-related illness, having to start counselling, etc) and I am determined to move outside of teaching. I feel that a new school would not solve the issue because I am actually quite well-supported at my current school and get good-to-outstanding lesson observations. It is teaching itself and the pressures and stresses surrounding it which make me feel that I need to move on.

I have a couple of questions about jobseeking that I am not sure of the answer to:

1) Should I tell my headteacher that I am applying for roles outside of teaching?
    I will need to put them down as a reference. While I will obviously give 100% while still in role, I worry that a stigma will be attached if I make it clear that I want to leave teaching before I actually have a job to go to. I can’t afford to be out of work as I have a recently-acquired mortgage to pay.

2) I work in an academy and my contract states that I have a notice period of 2 months. Does that mean that I could (if an offer arose) hand in my notice at the end of this half term, to start after Feb half term? There is no reference to the Burgundy Book in my contract.

Thanks in advance.

2. timeforachange123

3. Trendy Art

Trendy Art Star commenter

Yes - at the point which you have formally applied for another role.