1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Should I take the opportunity?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by FrostyLemon, Sep 6, 2015.

1. FrostyLemon

FrostyLemon New commenter

Hi everyone

I have just finished my NQT year in KS1 and have decided to try supply for the next few months. However, an agency that I recently signed up with has contacted me about taking on a full time position in a school. I immediately thought that this was strange and probably should have been sorted out before everyone broke up for summer. It's also making me wonder why it has happened...

It's in year six, which I have zero experience of and is a one year contract. Apparently I will be paid for 20 weeks by the agency and then be moved onto a contract with the school after that. It's the security which is tempting me, but I haven't even given supply a go yet.

This is all new to me, so any help will be greatly appreciated!

2. pepper5

pepper5 Star commenter

I think you are very wise to think about why a school has a vacancy so suddenly. If I were you, think very carefully and do as much research as you can in connection with the school. Is it in a category of requires improvement? Do you know anything at all about the school? If it is a challenging school you might want to get some more experience before taking on something like that. You are also right to consider what it would be like to teach a year six group if you have no experience of year six; add that into a mix of a challenging school and you are going to be up against a lot of extra work - especially if you are going to be planning and marking.