1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Should I retake my A levels?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by veni_vidi, Jan 1, 2016.

1. veni_vidi

veni_vidi New commenter

Hello, I hope this is the correct place to ask for this sort of advice. I am teacher of RE and Sociology to KS4. I have been at the same school since my NQT and I'm currently on M5. Due to different factors such as location I am considering changing schools in the next couple of years and know that although my reference will be excellent, I may not get shortlisted due to my A Levels which were grade D, E and F. Also my degree is in Criminology and Sociology 2:2. My PGCE was Religious studies.

I would like to take History and Religious studies online A Level courses. Partly just to make up for past mistakes, also because I think it would improve my employability in the future.

So my question is do you think retaking A Levels would improve my chances of getting shortlisted (maybe for humanities or jobs teaching KS5) ?

Many thanks for any advice received!
    Veni

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

No, I don't think that would make much difference.

I believe that it would be better to come out openly about it in your application, saying that you now realise that you did not study as you should have, and that this gives you greater empathy with the students, and can help you (without telling them about your own failings) to encourage them to do themselves justice.

Best wishes for 2016

digoryvenn and Milliemoo13 like this.
  3. veni_vidi

veni_vidi New commenter