1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Should I resign to help out my school?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by A4jen, May 1, 2017.

1. A4jen

A4jen New commenter

I would really appreciate some thoughtful advice.
    I am a Year 5/6 teacher in a really lovely school. I am in the process of applying/ being interviewed for my first headship. I very narrowly missed my first application- the feedback from the experience was that I was very likely to be appointed in the near future and I was invited to apply to another school in the MAT. I have two more interviews in the pipeline and feel reasonably sure that I will be given a headship this term. My issue is in the dates of the next two interviews. They are both quite close to the end of the half term and I am really concerned that this will hinder my current school's search for a replacement. I know this should not be my worry but I have a great deal of loyalty to the school, the children and the parents. I am considering handing in my notice so that my head can advertise. She does not want to lose me so would be happy to set the interview date after my 2nd interview. I can then apply for my own job so that if I am not appointed in the headship role, I can be interviewed for my current one.
    Does this sound a way around it? Has anyone done anything similar? Legally, can this be done?
    Many thanks.

2. marlin

marlin Star commenter Forum guide

Sounds very risky for you! :eek: I wouldn't advise. You could very easily be left without any job at all.

Schools can cope - even with late resignations close to or on May 31st - they do it all the time.

Don't fret on your school's behalf.

3. dunnocks

dunnocks Star commenter