1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Should I move schools?

Discussion in 'Personal' started by EnglishTeacher20, Jun 23, 2011.

1. I've been teaching for three years at my school and five years in total. During that time I have always received good or outstanding lesson observations, work incredibly hard and, in my opinion, gone above and beyond.
    More recently a close family member has become seriously ill and I have been the sole carer with no support network to help. My school said that I could have time off for hospital appointments, etc. and I have also had one week signed off by my GP for stress. My head has now told me that I have had too much time off...
    My work has always been my priority and the school have reaped the rewards of this over the years. However, my Year 10 marking has fallen behind as a result of stress, increased workload, etc. All other work has been done as usual. The head has received a complaint about this from a parent and has said that she will support rather than go down an 'informal capability route'.
    As a union rep, I know that we are not in informal capability territory but have followed all of the Head's suggestions for improvement and have agreed a time scale to mark the Year 10 work.
    This week that Head has told me that I will not be following my year group through to the end of their school career as she feels a 'lack of trust' and worries that I will 'go under' with stress. Unfortunately this is not the only time that she has undermined me in this way - it has been happening for at least 2 years so well before the family sickness.