1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Should I have to pay for Hep B Jab?

Discussion in 'Health and wellbeing' started by LemonadeyLady, Dec 10, 2011.

1. I'm a student teacher and I've heard on the grapevine that students going into SEN schools need to have the Hep B jab. They're all paying for theirs, which I suppose is fine if you've got the money but I haven't! I'm starting a placement in a SEN school soon and I'm wondering whether as it's unpaid if we might be entitled to a free jab? Or whether the University should be picking up the cost?

Please help!

2. I'm a student teacher and I've heard on the grapevine that students going into SEN schools need to have the Hep B jab. They're all paying for theirs, which I suppose is fine if you've got the money but I haven't! I'm starting a placement in a SEN school soon and I'm wondering whether as it's unpaid if we might be entitled to a free jab? Or whether the University should be picking up the cost?

Please help!

3. Don't think there is any entitlement to free jab, its not compulsory after all from the NHS's point of view, however when I worked in SEN schools the school paid for it (I paid and they refunded), so ask the placement school? I would have thought they would be up for it, after all, its not a huge amount of money and they are getting slave labour for several weeks.