1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Should I defer?

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by annabellina, Aug 4, 2011.

1. Hi - I wonder if anyone can advise me: I am a mature student due to start PGCE in September. I have a 10 year old son. My father is dying in hospital. He has been for weeks but keeps rallying and then fading. He has been in poor health for many years on and off and is a very very difficult person. My mother requires a lot of support with him. At the moment I am with them in the hospital about four times a week for approx four hours at a time. The stress of the situation is reaching a critical point. I am unable to concentrate on any pre-course reading for example ( and obviously I have my son to look after as well).
    While my father lives it is simply impossible to turn my back on him and most particularly my mother. It seems to me my duty to them is incompatible with doing the PGCE at this time. However, if he dies, things may be very different. My mother will need a lot of support then too (and I should think I will be pretty shattered with complex emotions) but I could imagine the PGCE would be doable.