1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Should I Become a Teacher?

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by mark8191, Sep 2, 2019.

1. mark8191

mark8191 New commenter

I've wanted to be a teacher since I can remember. Currently 28 and I've been working as a professional musician for 7 years. I have 2000 classroom hours from teaching music in schools as a peripatetic music teacher and finally decided to apply for a PGCE. I got a place at Northumbria Uni but having spoke to a dozen teachers, most try to discourage me whilst others tell me to go for it and that they themselves get their work done in school and don't take much if anything home.

The taking hours of work home every night is the only thing making me think twice, is this the norm or is it all about your own prioritising/ efficiency/ organisation/ time management skills/ school you're in?

Thoughts much appreciated.

Mark.

pepper5 likes this.
  2. becky70

becky70 Occasional commenter

It really comes down to the school. Being efficient and well organised yourself will help but schools vary widely in their expectations. I'm unsure if you are considering primary teaching (which I do) or secondary music. Certainly, it isn't rare for primary teachers to take home a hour or two of work each night on top of about 9-10 hours in school. Some would then do a lot of work over the weekend, too. Marking policies tend to impact massively on workload in primary.

pepper5 and agathamorse like this.
  3. mark8191

mark8191 New commenter

Sorry should have specified, its primary I'm considering.

pepper5 and agathamorse like this.
  4. SEBREGIS

SEBREGIS Lead commenter