1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Should I ask for a payrise?

Discussion in 'Headteachers' started by herecomestrouble, Mar 1, 2011.

1. I am in my third year of headship and am near the bottom of my ISR (group 2 school). The school I work in has very challenging children and recruiting a new head would be difficult (VA nature also). The school has a rising roll but this would not mean a group change for the ISR. When I took over, I changed a number of things and have moved the school on in leaps and bounds - words of the Governors and Ofsted - not me! We had ofsted last month and received good in all categories except 8, which we got outstanding for. This is a real achievemnt for us in very challenging circumstances. The report states that it is the leadership that has moved the school on so rapidly. This was also fed back to Governors. The outstandings were achieved in the areas which have been on the SDP in the last 3 years and / or on my performnace mangement targets. I have met and exceeded all performance management targets since beocming head.
    I love the school and don't really want to move on but, feel that I could earn a higher wage in another setting as my ISR is so low (in comparison to schools of ta simialr size) and Im at the bottom of it! After all, the reason I come to work is for the money and I curently do not feel as though I am financially rewarded for the job I do (I am sure lots of school staff all over the country feel this way also).