1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Should I apply for Deputy Head jobs?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by mrsdoubtfire80, Feb 6, 2016.

1. mrsdoubtfire80

mrsdoubtfire80 New commenter

I've been teaching for 14 years in four different primary schools, and have been a middle leader in two different schools for 9 years. I was an acting DH for 12 months. I have an MA in Early Childhood Studies and a NASENCO award. I'm happiest when I'm doing leadership stuff, lesson observations, leading INSETs, coaching others, meeting with inspectors etc.
    I would love to be a DH, the snag is I only have experience in nursery, reception and year 1. Do you think that would not only go against me in an interview but would also limit my ability to do the job?
    Also I have two children under 5. I currently work full time and it's a challenge though I love it. The planning, marking etc is just about manageable though I don't think I could possibly bring any more work home than I currently do (two hours every night, 5 hours at the weekend), would a DH role increase my work load significantly?
    I feel that if I leave it any longer my qualifications and experience will be out of date.

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Are there no Infant Schools to which you could apply? In my experience, a DHT would be expected to step into a year 5 or 6 class in an emergency, and certainly mentor and support teachers of KS2 as well as lower down the school.

In theory it shouldn't, but there may be more stress . . . SLT posts can be very intense.