1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Should food be taught within design technology?

Discussion in 'Design and technology' started by meg_button, Feb 5, 2011.

1. I am a trainee teacher in design and technology and I am doing some research into whether food should be taught as a design technology subject, a science or be a subject in its own right?

I'm just looking for people thoughts/opinions on the subject and especially if anyone has taught food as a science and seen the subject change through the subject areas.

Thank you!

2. I am a trainee teacher in design and technology and I am doing some research into whether food should be taught as a design technology subject, a science or be a subject in its own right?

I'm just looking for people thoughts/opinions on the subject and especially if anyone has taught food as a science and seen the subject change through the subject areas.

Thank you!

3. We are about to go through restucturing at my school and food is being moved into the Health facility along with PE and Health and Social Care.
    I am an RM/Graphics teacher and can understand why Food doesn't fit well into DT. It seems that what is taught it food lessons/SOW has been altered to suit the DT NC instead of teaching pupils how to prepare and cook food/meals.
    I am having to teach some food this year due to timetabling and most of my lessons are based on basic food prep and very little food theory, which is what I feel all food lessons should be about.

4. littlemissraw

littlemissraw Occasional commenter