1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Should / Can Cover Supervisors join a union?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by MathMan1, Jul 15, 2020.

1. MathMan1

MathMan1 New commenter

Apologies if this is a question with an 'obvious' yes or no answer, but I wasn't sure so thought it best to ask on here.

I'm presently studying for a maths degree with the OU with the aim to become a maths teacher. I've secured some regular voluntary work in a local secondary school's maths dept and also some paid days there too since they were pleased with the support I could provide - but covid meant that's on hold until Sept at the earliest.

I'd like to transition from my 'other job' to spend additional paid time working in secondary schools and to that end have spoken to a couple of agencies who provide cover supervisors for this area.

My question is this - can I / should I join a union at this stage?

From the litigious nature of how schools can be I'd have thought this could be sensible, however, as a non-qualified non-degree person I wasn't sure if that's possible to do yet?

I'd imagine that TA's would join a union so the non-degree issue may be a red-herring.

I believe there are a few unions and so if it's a 'yes' to joining - is there one that may be more suitable than another?

I've read on here that teachers have been recommended to join the 'main' union in their school, but for someone who may go to a few schools, that's not really plausible.

I've also read the pinned post but that didn't refer to Cover Supervisors whatsoever

https://www.tes.com/blog/join-a-union-yes-now

Any suggestions gratefully rec'd.

Thx all.

2. blazer

blazer Star commenter