1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Should a parent be home during private tutoring sessions?

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by meniazovuttakto, Mar 29, 2019.

1. meniazovuttakto

meniazovuttakto New commenter

I am fairly new to tutoring, and have only been doing it for a couple of months through a company that assigns me to students. The sessions always take place in a student's home. This week I ran into a dilemma with one of the students that I have been paired with. The student is in his mid-teens, and needed general organization skills and reading help. When I arrived to the first session, nobody was home. It took a few days to finally get in touch with the father, who was furious that his son failed to show up to the session. Apparently the father travels a lot, and is rarely home. The son would be most likely always be home alone for our future sessions.
    I have never dealt with my clients missing sessions, and parents being so hard to get in touch with. I am concerned that I have never got a chance to meet or speak to the dad. My manager is the one who has be able to get in touch with the dad (my calls and emails don't get returned). I am also concerned about coming to a one-on-one tutorial in an otherwise empty house with a teenager who is obviously reluctant (he missed the first session). I voiced these concerns to my manager, who was a bit surprised. She said that the student has been with the company for about a year, but with a different tutor (a man). The other tutor left for a better job, so the student was passed on to me. My manager also said that I would most likely never meet the father, since he travels so much.