1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Shortlisted candidates will be seen teaching in their own schools

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by susiec08, Mar 28, 2012.

1. Does this mean that as a supply teacher I will not be considered for short listing? Is it worth even applying?

2. Linda555

Linda555 New commenter

The head where I currently do supply said that about a vacancy, but she explained that she wanted to give each one the best chance, and of course anyone with a regular class would prefer that. Not sure how they make it fair, for supply teachers

3. Yes, how fair is that for supply teachers? I had an interview recently where myself and one other candidate did our interview lesson at the interviewing school but the other 4 candidates were in their own classes. It is certainly not fair.
    I am now seeing job adverts stating that shortlisted candidates will be seen in their own schools so I assume from that supply teachers/ those just finishing uni will not be shortlisted so is it even worth applying for?

4. It would also put (for example) people looking to relocate from a long way away at a disadvantage, or those not currently employed in a school.
    That said, I can see how from an employer's perspective, this would be the preferred option. Perhaps they should add that those who do not have their own class (or one where travelling would not be feasible) would be invited to teach one at the school - I don't know, in fact.

5. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

There was a long thread about this last year.
    I think that it is grossly unfair. Teaching a class that you know is a great deal easier than turning up in a school and taking whatever they give you.