1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Shenzen

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by mrjack, Dec 3, 2015.

1. mrjack

mrjack Occasional commenter

HI All,
    I have seen a post in Shenzen, does anyone here have any information on the place ?
    I know it is not too far from Hong Kong. I'm not really a big city person, I like nature and the outdoors, does Shenzen have easy access to nature and the outdoors ? what kind of place is it for an expat ?
    Thanks in advance

2. clovispoint

clovispoint Occasional commenter

I am no expert on China / Shenzen but do live in Hong Kong. This YouTube channel is all about living in Shenzen / China: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl7mAGnY4jh4Ps8rhhh8XZg They should give you some idea of life as an expat.

From my limited knowledge, Shenzen is very much a new city, highly modern and not really an nature buffs place. However, you can fairly easily roam out of the city and get to places that have nature,

3. mrjack

Are you teaching in Hong Kong ? I have been trying for so long to get a break there, not had any luck !

4. mikemcdonald25

mikemcdonald25 Occasional commenter

No doubt the Hippo will be in touch soon! While you wait clovispoint is quite right. Shenzen is a new (in 1979 - it was a one horse - sorry, bicycle - fishing village) city of 5 million people, close to another city of.....Oh what the hell, the whole conurbation is over 50 million people stretching from the HK border to Guangzhou and beyond. There are green spaces in between but they are getting smaller by the day.