1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Sharing of own resources / unfair work distribution

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by natalielonglegs, Jun 3, 2019.

1. natalielonglegs

natalielonglegs New commenter

Hello.

I am having a nightmare in my current role with regards to resources and unfair work distribution.
    I work in a young offenders institute, teaching 15-18 year olds. I am a fairly new teacher, having only worked previously in one secondary school (as a fully qualified teacher). Prior to that, I studied on my PGCE and worked as a TA.

I came into the role with no course set up and since working at the prison for nearly 2 years I have managed to successfully build a qualification from scratch. This includes:
    • Seeking approval for the delivery of the particular course I wanted to deliver (NCFE)
    • Writing each of the four L1 units of work
    • Having each unit quality assured
    • Producing all of the resources for the four units
    • Producing the necessary assessment documentation alongside the resources
    • Writing (up to now) three L2 units
    • Having each of the L2 units quality assured
    • Producing the resources for the L2 units

I have also, since starting in the role, managed to successfully support a large number of young people through full units (and sometimes the full qualification). I have sent all of their work in for quality assurance and have had limited developmental feedback on my assessment methods. I have developed my units as I have delivered them, making changes as I see fit.