1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

shared planning advice

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by zaetsi, Oct 18, 2015.

1. zaetsi

zaetsi New commenter

Hi

I'm an NQT and share planning with other teachers In my year group. My issue is that the other teachers in my team do not get their planning done until quite late - say 10pm on a Sunday evening. However, I like to know what I'm doing the next day without having a mad panic on Monday mornings esp. as I'm new to teaching. Do you think I should say something to them? I don't want them to feel like I'm dictating when they do their work.

Many thanks for any advice.

2. EvilAsh

EvilAsh Occasional commenter

I'm assuming you're primary. As a year group leader in primary, my year group all have an agreement that planning is completed one week in advance, which allows people to adapt planning for their classes. Asking your year group to do the same isn't unreasonable, it's good practice. As an NQT, they should do this anyway for you or of consideration for your inexperience.

3. JessicaRabbit1

JessicaRabbit1 Senior commenter