1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Shape, Space and Measure

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by LaurenEJ23, Nov 22, 2015.

1. LaurenEJ23

LaurenEJ23 New commenter

Hi everyone,

I'm a PGCE student currently on my first placement in FS2. At the moment I'm responsible for delivering a once weekly SSM lesson. Last week I introduced the topic of weight. Firstly, children estimated the heaviest item in my shopping bag by touch and we then checked using a bucket balance. The children were then given their own shopping bag- they had to decide which of the two objects was heaviest (once again by touch). The lesson went well but I feel it was pitched a little too low. I have to deliver the same topic again next week but with more challenge for the children.

Any ideas? I want to develop their use of the language of heaviest/lightest. I was thinking of getting them to order three objects from lightest to heaviest but I'm not sure if this would be too difficult, especially just by using touch? I'd love to get the children using the bucket balance themselves but it's difficult when we have 21 children all sat in a circle on the floor (limited space and resources).

Any advice would be much appreciated :)

2. grumbleweed

grumbleweed Star commenter

Hi there. A couple of things to get you going. First use heavier and lighter rather than heaviest for comparing two objects. Heaviest is for 3 or more.