1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Sexism in dress policy?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by pinkflipflop, Jan 16, 2011.

1. In our school we certainly can't wear whatever we like. There are certain rules.
    As for the men, I think I have only ever seen them in shirts and ties when it is parents evening.

2. Msz

Msz Established commenter

I wore less "dressy" clothes in reception because most days saw me covered in paint, mud or something worse but overall staff dress "professionally" and small children are just as happy to wipe their nose on your best designer suit as on your Asda jeans.

3. As a student teacher i always go into school dressed smartly as i believe it makes a better impression. Children look up to their teacher and so i feel we have a responsibility to show them how to dress appropriately. We expect children to look smart, so we should set the example no matter what sex.

4. There is a dress code for women too...I certainly can't wear what I like! Jeans and hoodies are a certain no no no and would be my preferred dress :) We are expected to wear smart clothes, no low cut tops or low riding trousers etc etc. I always wear black trousers (Matalan Specials!) and a shirt from Dotties, New Look or the like. Men are expected to wear, trousers, shirt (with or without tie although in most cases its with) or smart polo shirt - which I think is completely reasonable.