1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Service Children in secondary schools

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by rburnip, Mar 2, 2012.

1. Hi guys, I'm a PGCE student and I really want to write a masters level assignment on issues for service children in secondary schooland techniques to help them, however I am having problems finding any literature or reports. Does anyone know of anything? Thanks

2. henriette

henriette New commenter

what is a service child?

3. I assume you mean children who have one ore more parent in the armed forces. Doubt there's been much research into this. I'm not even sure whether records are kept of stats of how many children in different schools fall into this category. Boarding schools would have more than day schools though.

Overall, I rather odd premise for an assignment I think, unless I've misunderstood.

4. frustum

frustum Lead commenter

It was certainly on the January "form 7" at one stage, so some data is/has been collected.
    (I suspect this may have been partly trying to sort out funding for
    schools near barracks - with at least one parent in employment, the
    service children don't qualify for free school meals, but may well have higher than average need for support, especially if they've been moved around a lot.)
    You could try "Service Children's Education" (www.sceschools.com) - if anyone knows what research there is, they ought to.