1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Sentence Level Work - phases

Discussion in 'Primary' started by sophs87, Mar 28, 2011.

1. I am currently a supply teacher but am doing a job share with a year 3 class. I have been wondering what sentence level / word / phonic work you should do with year 3 - like should they know and adjective, noun, verb etc or should they know this before? I do not really know what you should cover for each year. Looking on here I saw a discussion and phases were mentioned linked with sentence level work. Where do I find these?
    Really need help with this - been looking for weeks!
    Thank you in advance!

2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Depends what the children need practice with.
    I would take in some photos/pictures & ask the children to brainstorn some sentences about them on whiteboards. Then look at some examples How could we as a class 'improve them'
    That should give you some idea of the ability of the class and you can plan from there, depending on what you think they need.

3. Thankyou :) was just wondering if there were specifics I needed to cover with them before they go into year 4?

4. Lara mfl 05

In the old National Literacy Strategy Framework there udes to be lists of what was supposed to be done in each year but there doesn't appear to be an online version these days(I've been looking myself recently)
    Nat. Strats has