1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

*sensetive* concerned for my mental health due to work issues.

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by PoppinsOz, Feb 11, 2016.

1. PoppinsOz

PoppinsOz New commenter

As soon as I graduated from university I knew I'd made a huge mistake choosing teaching as a career. My husband convinced me to give it a try for one year and if I still did't like it to move on. 9 years on and classed as an "outstanding" teacher I still feel this way. I've spent the last 5 years trying to leave the profession but with no success.

On the surface I appear calm and organised but inside I constantly feel like I'm in a pressure cooker with demands being thrown at me from all angles. I've had a number of long periods of time off with illnesses some of which I believe have been caused by work related stress. My amount of sickness leave probably contributes to my lack of job application success.