1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

SENCO since 1991 - in new school, no NASENCO....help!

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by Nealswife, May 16, 2020.

1. Nealswife

Nealswife Occasional commenter

Here's challenge presented to me as school wants to get rid of me for raising issues about school practices.
    I am a qualified teacher, with M.Ed in SEND from London Uni. Worked in SEND as Advisor and SENDCo for years pre-2009. Law states, after 2014, new SENCOs need the NASENCO - which I I don't have as interview in 2017, I was told, not needed! Great for me, with my experience with additional degree.
    At this school, HT left and new HT lost my files. The latest HT, No.3 has questioned my qualifications and asked am I qualified - No I am not...the truth.
    The requirements by Government not clear - ambiguous - but not sure how to clarify this dilemma in SENCO role. I ma being fired for non compliance and for deceit - although my file has been 'lost' and my 3 years is up! No PMR last year, not addressed, no training - kids have all made progress and I have carried out all duties with good results, including GOOD from Ofsted.
    The school is pushing me out as I ma older and won't take their nonsense in their treatment children and parents.
    Any one with similar experiences of qualifications - would be helpful, either way.
    Grateful - stay well...not easy times for anyone.

2. minnie me

minnie me Star commenter