1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

SENCO interview

Discussion in 'Primary' started by catjane, Apr 9, 2009.

1. would anyone be kind enough to give me some ideas about the types of question I might get asked about this job interview? Although I am an expereinced teacher I have had not had any experience of this role; the Head says training will be provided for the right candidate. I would really appreciate some help.
    Many thanks.

2. Make sure that you know the 5 Stages of the Code of Practice. Emphasise that you will build up contacts with the relevant outside agencies who you will need to contact.

3. I had a SENCo interview recently and I had no experience either. I made sure I was aware of the changes Every Child Matters has had on the role and had read removing barriers to achievement and had looked at the 2020 vision - so was able to dicuss the move to personalised learning. I had to do a presentation on inclusion so focussed on how you can adapt teaching styles to the learners needs as well as discussing the three waves of inclusion & the code of practice.
    The questions I was asked were related to my presentation and I had questions about how I would deal with parents, what I would do if a teacher was struggling with a child's behaviour etc.

4. Think about budgets, resources and if you have to line manage TAs as well. Personalised learning and ECM are the big things at the moment. Definitely mention liaison and multiagency working, and the CAF.