1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

SEN with EFL

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by gingercath, Feb 8, 2011.

1. Hi,
    I am an EFL teacher and am currently teaching an adult beginners (A1) class. One of the students in my class amy have autism. He hasn't been statemented becuase he is Thai and apparently it is a taboo subject there.
    I, and indeed no on in my school, has had any training on SEN. I am working on a rolling enrollment programme so studemnts coming and going each week, so very mixed ability.
    Can anyone help with advice or suggestions?

Thanks
    Cath

2. Hi,
    I am an EFL teacher and am currently teaching an adult beginners (A1) class. One of the students in my class amy have autism. He hasn't been statemented becuase he is Thai and apparently it is a taboo subject there.
    I, and indeed no on in my school, has had any training on SEN. I am working on a rolling enrollment programme so studemnts coming and going each week, so very mixed ability.
    Can anyone help with advice or suggestions?

Thanks
    Cath

3. Dodros

Dodros Star commenter

I have teaching and research interests in foreign language (including EFL) learners with special educational needs. How do you know your student has an autistic spectrum disorder (ASD)? Only a medical practitioner can diagnose ASD. Post-diagnosis treatment of people with ASD is often the preserve of speech and language therapists, as ASD is a communication as well as an interaction difficulty.