1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

SEN in secondary - help?

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by a_wrinkle_of_stars, Oct 21, 2017.

1. a_wrinkle_of_stars

a_wrinkle_of_stars New commenter

I'm a trainee English teacher, just started in September. I've no experience at all with SEN and have had no training on this from school or uni. Have been working with a Y7 class who have a range of SEN diagnoses and behaviours between them - ADHD, autism traits, learning difficulties/disabilities. There are also some in the class who are low literacy due to EAL or have missed a lot of school due to medical or cultural reasons. There are 17 in the class and they are very needy, very very difficult to keep on task and behaviour. I have just found out this will be one of 'my' classes, i.e. I'll be teaching them a lot. I have been trying to find out the best strategies for teaching these children, especially looking for info on ADHD/ ASC, but I can only find online stratgies for 'managing' their behaviour, rather than actuall teaching them in a style that is adapted so they can better learn. As far as I can see the teacher is not adapting his style of teaching, which is quite traditional. Does anyone have any advice, please? I mentioned it to someone at uni and she suggested group and project work - is this really a good idea? Googling tells me that it can work but only if they are with good work role models - there are none in the group.

2. minnie me

minnie me Lead commenter