1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Self Funding GTP 2010

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by andysedge, Feb 16, 2010.

1. andysedge

andysedge New commenter

Hi, im very new to TES but also very glad i came across it. At the moment i am a university student studying Coach Education and Participation and for the past 3 years have given up my free time in between studies gaining experience at my old high school. At the end of the school year 08-09 the PE department asked me if i wanted to do a GTP with the school, after reading up about GTP it seemed like a brilliant choice over the PGCE with the income as well as being able to work in a school i am so familiar with. I am currently waiting to hear how my GTP application has gone (hopefully hear this week or next), however i am very aware that i places are extremely limited and it doesn't help that i am only just leaving university. Despite this the school believe i am a very competent teacher and have backed me with funding for the GTP along with memebers of staff from other departments asking me to fill in on school trips when additional staff are needed.
    So, being as nervous as i am about getting a GTP place for next year i have been looking into self funding. I am eager to do my GTP at this school next year as a member of the PE department is thinking about leaving in a year or two and is hoping for the oppurtunity to tutor me before moving so he can add it to his list of achievements. This also gives me a good opening for a job after my GTP as there may be a place available within the department.