1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Self-Employed Work and Pay

Discussion in 'Independent' started by EurekaYT, May 11, 2020.

1. EurekaYT

EurekaYT New commenter

Hello all,

I am a qualified teacher, currently self-employed and running a Youth Theatre company. I have been contacted by a school and asked if I would consider teaching all of their Drama one day per week.

I would not be on their payroll, but would invoice them for my services. I have never done this before, and was wondering if anyone had any advice on how I should charge - I don't want to charge too much, obviously, but I also don't want to sell myself short. Should I go on basic teaching wage and break it down? I am a bit stumped.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks!

2. CabbageWhite20

CabbageWhite20 Occasional commenter

Honestly, I think you should charge more than minimum. If you’re a one man band you’d be de facto HoD. Would they expect you to organise and oversee productions?

It sounds like a great opportunity but probably also a lot of work, and with planning etc. you’re bound to work outside the day. You’d also want to find out about and factor in attending staff meetings and compulsory training, reports, parent evenings etc.

3. Rott Weiler

Rott Weiler Star commenter Forum guide

You might want to ask on the Headteacher's forum what they would expect to pay for this - confirm whether this is primary or secondary.