1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

sectioning ,help/advice please

Discussion in 'Health and wellbeing' started by vikingmaid, Nov 1, 2011.

1. I arrived home to find o/h 'sectioned' by police for his own protection and will see doctor tomorrow. He has been very depressed and this is the second time he has been in this state in a week. He has be 'managed' by GP, but I think he needs hospitalisation. How can I push this as they (gp)seem reluctant. obviously he is at risk if left.

2. I'm sorry I have no experience or advice to give you. Just hugs and I hope someone else can give you more practical help.

3. Thanks sashh. All this has been made worse by him insisting in going to work after being prescribed some antidepressants, and still feeling anxious, got OFSTED call and went in1 Was observed once, TA in class said he did a good job, kids worked well for cohort, inspector said it was inadequate due to some being off task! Final straw! 70% SEN in class and they take no context. I now have a husband who is very ill.[​IMG]

4. anon2799

anon2799 New commenter

Just sending you big hugs. How ****. I feel for you x

5. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

No answers, but just to let you know you're not alone in this.
    Presumably Ofsted contributed to his decline? He's not the first person to go downhill after such a visit based on one short 'observation'. Tell him to hang on to the TAs assessment, who knows the class far better.
    I don't quite understand why he was 'sectioned' and what they suppose doing about it, but I do know unless you 'make a nuisance of yourself' they probably won't do much.