1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Secret Teacher: teaching robbed me of my health – and nearly my life

Discussion in 'Education news' started by FrankWolley, Feb 27, 2016.

1. FrankWolley

FrankWolley Star commenter

http://www.theguardian.com/teacher-...ing-robbed-me-of-my-health-and-nearly-my-life

Shockingly honest, but no real surprise to most who read this Forum, I guess.

Throughout my 13-year teaching career, I have been told by fellow teachers, Ofsted inspectors, students and parents that I am a good teacher – a “natural”. I have achieved excellent results, have enthusiasm for my subject, and care passionately about the welfare of my students. Only a few weeks before, our behaviour manager had parked a “difficult” year 11 student with me. At the end of the class, the boy told me he had just experienced the most interesting and enjoyable lesson ever and he wished he had chosen to study my subject. As he walked out of the classroom, he added: “You’re an excellent teacher, Miss.”

Yet teaching has blighted my life. It has ripped out my soul, eaten me up and spat me back out. I am no longer the carefree, garrulous individual I once was. It has robbed me of my health, it has robbed me of my self-worth and, most importantly, it nearly robbed me of my life.

The media is full of stories about the pressures of teaching. We are all too aware of the long hours, continual monitoring, obsession with data, observations and dreaded Ofsted inspections.