1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

secondary trained but wanting a change

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by emmabelper, Apr 28, 2011.

1. Dear all,
    I am a secondary trained maths teacher- I completed my NQT year in a secondary school a few years ago but left after this and went back to University to study a masters. I really didn't get on with the back chat from the pupils.
    Since then I have carried on to a PhD at University but I am very very unhappy and after having some primary classroom experience with a teacher friend realised that I definitley went into teaching at the wrong level. I much prefer being in the classroom with the younger students
    I know from internet research and speaking with a headteacher that I am qualified to teach across all age ranges but at the moment I definitely would not feel confident enough to go straight in as a full time primary school teacher- I know I need more experience.
    I have been browsing some supply agency sites and see that they are advertising for supply HLTA and TAs- I think this would be an ideal way for me to gain experience. I know there is a huge pay difference but it'd be a chance I would be willing to take.Also as a HLTA I would be able to teach groups of children.
    Would this be the right approach to take? Am I going to face many hurdles in this approach? I figure if it is a supply route then I would not be letting anyone down in the future when I felt confident enough to apply for a primary teaching job?
    Many thanks xx