1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Secondary to Primary

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by GiraffeWah, Feb 8, 2012.

1. Hi, I am a secondary music PGCE student, but I think I want to move to primary. When I first started thinking about teaching I wanted to do primary, but changed to secondary as I wanted a music focus. I have been led to believe you can switch the age group you teach, but I was wondering what the best way to do this is, and whether its advisable to do this in your NQT year or if I should stick to secondary for now? I don't absolutely hate it (and to be fair I've just had a tough class), so its not a case of not wanting to do secondary at all, I just think I personally enjoy working with younger kids more... I'm really just wondering how I could go about opening my options.

Thanks a lot for any advice!

2. Hi, I am a secondary music PGCE student, but I think I want to move to primary. When I first started thinking about teaching I wanted to do primary, but changed to secondary as I wanted a music focus. I have been led to believe you can switch the age group you teach, but I was wondering what the best way to do this is, and whether its advisable to do this in your NQT year or if I should stick to secondary for now? I don't absolutely hate it (and to be fair I've just had a tough class), so its not a case of not wanting to do secondary at all, I just think I personally enjoy working with younger kids more... I'm really just wondering how I could go about opening my options.

Thanks a lot for any advice!