1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Secondary to primary TA

Discussion in 'Primary' started by justineberry, Jan 18, 2020.

1. justineberry

justineberry New commenter

I’ve been teaching for 15 years as an Art Teacher. I’m currently taking time off while my kids are small.
    I have been wondering about the possibility of working as a TA in a primary school. Due to the lessoned work load and hours that fit around school.
    Does anyone have experience of this? As I’m a qualified teacher with QTS what level could I apply at? Would I be able to gain extra input as an Art lead?

2. Wotton

Wotton Lead commenter

Generally for a TA you teaching qualifications would not get you more money. The jobs are advertised with a pay scale and that is what you get.
    a school may use your art skills to cover PPA, they may pay you a higher rate for this they may not. Each school is so different.
    Look at the jobs available, visit the schools and see what impression you get.
    When I worked as a TA when my kids were young I had to put my youngest into breakfast club so I could get to my job at the time they wanted me. Inset days could be a problem unless you have someone who could look after them.
    Really you will not know until you try.

3. Sally006

Sally006 Senior commenter