1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Secondary to Primary pay gap

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by Holkidman, Jun 20, 2020.

1. Holkidman

Holkidman New commenter

Hi, I have been teaching Secondary Art and Design for the past 17 years. After having a really bad experience in my old school I left and considered doing supply and then reassessing my options. I did some supply work in a secondary school and enjoyed it and in January to help boost my finances I got a job as a cover supervisor in a Primary school. I absolutely loved it and began to think going into Primary is what I really wanted to pursue. My dilemma is that the school that I did supply work for (secondary) has offered me a position as a HOD from September. However, the primary school I am currently teaching in has offered to give me some training towards becoming a primary school teacher hopefully from September 2021 (although it's not guaranteed). Obviosuly, as I am currently a cover supervisor the pay is half of what I would be earning in my current role and what I have been offered as a HOD. The question is do I risk a yesr of being paid very poorly to pursue the primary teaching in the future or just take the job I am trained in because it pays well?? Also, can I be sure that if I get a Primarty school teaching job that I would be paid on the same band I am getting now (UPS 1)??? Any advice would be gratefully received, I'm in such a dilemma and time is running out to decide as I will have to let somebody down.

2. phatsals

phatsals Senior commenter

I'd be very surprised if you got UPS1 in primary as you have between little and no experience. Effectively an NQT.