1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

secondary to primary career move

Discussion in 'Primary' started by newrumpus, Feb 23, 2011.

1. Hi, I am seriously considering switching stages. I realise that this might be a bit of a challenge as I have taught secondary for a long time. I am trying to make myself more appealing to the primary sector by studying for an AS/A2 in mathematics and, as I'm an English teacher already (although I've taught quite a few subjects at KS3) I will have both key subjects covered. I am trying to get involved in some transition work this year to give me some experience too.

What I wondering is, is there anything else I can do to make myself more prepared to apply to the primary sector? As experienced Primary teachers what else do I need to do?

2. Hi, I am seriously considering switching stages. I realise that this might be a bit of a challenge as I have taught secondary for a long time. I am trying to make myself more appealing to the primary sector by studying for an AS/A2 in mathematics and, as I'm an English teacher already (although I've taught quite a few subjects at KS3) I will have both key subjects covered. I am trying to get involved in some transition work this year to give me some experience too.

What I wondering is, is there anything else I can do to make myself more prepared to apply to the primary sector? As experienced Primary teachers what else do I need to do?

3. Prepare yourself for exhaustion! Primary children (and parents) can be very very needy.