1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Secondary teacher wanting to convert to primary - any suggestions?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by cachecache, Jun 30, 2011.

1. I've been teaching MFL in a secondary school for the past 8 years, but after working with some primary colleagues, would now really like to investigate the possibility of working in a primary school. I'm aware that it's a whole different ball game, so would appreciate any advice / tips, especially as I'm full time and permanant, so it's tricky to get primary experience.

I know it won't be easy, but I'm prepared to work at it!

Thanks

2. Msz

Msz Established commenter

Look at the primary vacancies in your area ...it's likely they are few

3. Sillow

Sillow Senior commenter

As there is currently a lot of competition for jobs, you would find it difficult to prove to a primary school that you could teach the primary curriculum as well as any primary-trained teacher. Not impossible, but hard. Experience would be crucial. Have you considered looking for a job in a middle school first?

4. Cervinia

Cervinia Occasional commenter

The question you need to ask yourself is: why would an employer choose you ahead of someone specially trained for that age range?
    Potentially you could try get a foot in the door at a larger primary by covering PPA (French). Or were you hoping to be a class teacher?

5. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

You won't like this response, but I feel it is best to be honest.

There is a massive surplus of primary trained teachers at the moment, both NQTs and experienced. Many excellent primary teachers finding it impossible to get jobs with 100-200 applicants per post.