1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Secondary teacher in need of help

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Teacherindisguise, Jun 23, 2011.

1. Teacherindisguise

Teacherindisguise New commenter

Hi all.
    As the title says I am a secondary teacher in need of some assistance.
    I have recently been given my class allocation for next year and in it I have been assigned bottom set year 7 and 8. The problem I have however is that the students in these classes have a NC level of 1 or 2 across the board and I have no idea what a student of this ability is able to do.
    For example would they be able to copy a diagram from the board and add labels? or can they follow a list of 5 instructions to do practical work? Can they even read the instructions?
    I may well be far out here and they are capable of more than I am expecting but I really don't know. I have asked for some assistance from school and I was told that no one knows and to just muddle along for the first few weeks and try from there.
    I am going to suggest that as the timetables get lighter I could go to a local primary school and observe but this may not be possible and I would to start the year with some idea.
    Any contributions will be much appreciated,
    Thanks

2. Please do get into a primary school. I'm sure there would be no shortage of offers if you were to put a request, saying roughly where you are, in the Headteacher forum. If you are in or around Northamptonshire, I can help. Just contact me via the private messaging on this website.

3. Level 1 and 2 is more usual for year 2, so I imagine your groups are SEN children. Is your SENCO likely to be of any assistance?