1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Secondary Maths GTP interview

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by gko3, Feb 23, 2012.

1. I am new to this forum, but would really appreciate some advice.
    I have an interview in two weeks for a gtp in secondary maths and was looking for advice on the 10min presentation I have to do. I am a chartered civil engineer so was thinking of putting a construction slant on a maths topic but I don't want to 'miss the point' as I'm not sure what they will be looking for.

There is also a subject test, has anyone had one in maths? Obviously I'm studying hard on ks4 and a-level but have no real idea what to expect.

I'd love some advice as this really means the world to me!
    Thanks for reading.
    Gill

2. gtpmaths1

gtpmaths1 New commenter

Hi Gill. I'm currently on the secondary mathematics gtp and also come from a civil engineering background. I had the subject test last year, it only went up to ks4 level, and there was a significant focus on number and algebra skills. As long as your maths is of a good standard i wouldn't worry greatly about it - any areas of weakness (as long as there aren't too many of them) will be identified as areas for development as a trainee teacher. It is expected that you won't know it all.