1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Secondary Behaviour

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by aspiringgeographyteacher, Jun 10, 2016.

1. aspiringgeographyteacher

aspiringgeographyteacher New commenter

hi,

I'll be teaching ages 14-16. Just looking for tips on class control please and keeping them on task!

Thank you :)

2. Flere-Imsaho

Flere-Imsaho Star commenter

Don't go in expecting to have problems.
    Have you not taught this age group before? They're not that different from other kids.

3. aspiringgeographyteacher

aspiringgeographyteacher New commenter

I'm a complete newbie!

questionsandanswers likes this.
  4. Flere-Imsaho

Flere-Imsaho Star commenter

Then they key thing is to find out what the school behaviour policy involves, ask for a seating plan so that you can call children by name and act like you expect to be obeyed. From the very start don't let them talk over you. Keep them on task by making tasks they have to participate in - use questioning to show that everyone has to be involved and ready to answer.

agathamorse and pepper5 like this.
  5. pepper5

pepper5 Star commenter

Buy a couple of good handbooks on classroom management. Taking Care of Behaviour by Paul Did is a good one to begin with and anything written by Bill Rogers willmbe useful.

As the above poster mentioned, you must have an seating plan. Once you have the seating plan, don't hesitate to change it if you need to and I know teachers who change their seating plan once a term.

The next most important thing is to have your rules on a poster on the wall and also get the students to write them in their books. Use three simple ones to start with. This is all covered in the book by Paul Dix.