1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

SEAL group

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by KG21, Jan 7, 2012.

1. Hi ive been asked to run a seal group- ive never done this before and dont have a clue where to start. I have very limited materials as far as im aware :s

any advice please?
    x

2. tamtams

tamtams New commenter

Hi, all I can suggest is to google the DfES website this hopefully will give you a starter. I am no expert but suggest that you focus on addressing empathy, managing feelings (focusing on anger) and social skills, I use these as my topics throughout the year. I run two social groups and both groups are children from year three. At the start of each session we remind ourselves of the groups rules, I laminated these rules and we go over them one one by. We then do various activities per session, it could be something quite simple like playing a game, this in itself will highlight the children that have difficultly in sharing or losing etc and they can then begin to be shown how to deal with this. All through the sessions I make sure that I always praise the children that are trying their best to follow our rules, all children get a sticker at the end of each session and the child that I feel has tried their best in following the rules will also get a reward out of my box, this does work extremely well for these groups of children , but might not work for other groups it's all trial and error to begin with.. I also make sure that the children are aware of carrying on these new learnt skills outside of the group as well, for example I work in my groups class during the day so if I see a child showing these skills I make a point of telling them that. I think most importantly