1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Scottish Higher result. How on earth..???

Discussion in 'Scotland - curriculum' started by p4girl, Aug 10, 2016.

1. p4girl

p4girl New commenter

As an experienced teacher, I thought I had a handle on how education worked... but here's a new one on me...

A friend's daughter didn't attend her Higher Geography exam - thought she wouldn't do well. Friend raging!!!!! Has gone on about the importance of studying, commitment, future prospects etc.

Exam results come in yesterday - and her daughter passed, getting a C for Higher Geography!

I don't understand it. You can pass a higher by not sitting it?!? A strange message to be sending to pupils.

Can anyone explain how she passed? Coursework surely only counts for around 20%.

2. sparkleghirl

sparkleghirl Star commenter

If she had a good excuse, it may be down to mock results. When I was in scotland these could be used to grade a student in the event of exam day problems.

3. p4girl

p4girl New commenter

I get what you're saying, but the pupil simply bunked off the exam, because she thought she hadn't done enough studying. SQA guidelines say coursework plus external exam to pass a higher. It seems to slightly devalue the efforts of those who worked really hard, when pupil concerned has now bragged on Facebook that she passed without sitting the exam.

4. Flere-Imsaho

Flere-Imsaho Star commenter

It's impossible.